Work Eligibility

Work Eligibility

Work Eligibility Criteria
In general, eligible work is based on the following minimum criteria: 
  • It must be required as a result of the federally declared event (pre-existing damage is not covered nor is damage from an unrelated event at the time of the disaster).
  • It must be located within the designated disaster area.
  • It must be the legal responsibility of an eligible applicant.
  • No other federal agency has statutory authority to provide funding for the work.

Types of Work
Two types of work are eligible for the Public Assistance Program: 
  • Emergency work - This type of work includes debris removal and emergency protective measures. Emergency protective measures are actions taken to save lives, protect public health and safety, and protect improved property. Debris removal is eligible when it is necessary to:
    • Eliminate an immediate threat to life, public health, and safety
    • Eliminate an immediate threat of significant damage to improved property
    • Ensure the economic recovery of the affected community
  • Permanent work - This type of work refers to any activity that must be performed to restore the damaged part of a facility to pre-disaster condition and function. The facility may be replaced if the cost of repair is more than 50% of replacement cost.

More Information
For more information, view the Indiana Department of Homeland Security website.

EMA Director

Duane Davis (812) 358-6110 email