header link
twitter facebook


The county started the service January 1, 1991, hiring Dennis Brasher to organize and set up the EMS system. He remains the executive director currently. The service operates under a county ordinance with an Ambulance Board of Directors that meets monthly.

This board consists of:
  • One physician - Dr. George Weir
  • One county commissioner - Bob Gillaspy
  • One county councilman - Dave Hall
  • Jackson County sheriff - Rick Meyer
  • Seymour City police chief designee - Craig Hayes
  • President of the Jackson County Fire Chiefs Association - Ben Rudolph
  • Schneck Medical Center administrator - Warren Forgey 
  • Two members of the public - Brad Lucas and Dennis Maxie

The service has twice won the Indiana Paramedic Provider of the Year as well as once won the State Governors Cup Paramedic Ambulance Competition.

Statistical Information
Jackson County EMS provides pre-hospital treatment at the scene of emergencies under the auspices of medical control from Schneck Medical Center. Transport is then made to the closest or most appropriate facility. 

7,165 responses were made in 2018 with about half of these being emergencies and the other half convalescent. We employ a staff of 41 EMTs, Advanced EMTs and Paramedics. Full-time field staff works a shift of 24 hours on and 48 hours off. 

As a county service, the operating budget of about $2,800,000 is set and approved by the Jackson County Council. About 95% of the budget is covered by income from runs made and 5% being tax-supported.